Storytelling in games: My character

My character is called Ivan Trakovsky, he is 36 years of age who grew up in during the Lenin and Stalin era in the Soviet Union who grew up in a poor family of farmers, joining the army at age 18. Managed to discharge and escape to America but becoming a fugitive in the process. But due to his heritage he is faced with discrimination and slander in America at the height of McCarthyism.

Image 

What is your name? Gender? Race? Religion? Age?

-My name is Ivan Trakovsky, I am male, I am Caucasian Russian but I’m part Korean on my father’s side, by religion is Orthodox Christian, I am 36 years of age.

 Where were you born? What about your parents—where are they, and are they alive? When you were growing up, did you struggle, and if so, in what way?

Sochi, Krasnodar Krai, Russia, of course I struggled growing up in Stalin’s life was hard under his torturous regime. I was an only child, they all struggled their entire lives, my parents always tried to persuade him to pursue a better life, despite my opposition to do so because I didn’t want to abandon my family, I eventually complied joining the army in hopes of building my character and possibly seeing the world. My parents died shortly after he joined, much to his grief but a part of him is relieved that they don’t have to suffer any longer. 

 What year is it now?

1953, during the Stalin regime and the height of McCarthyism in the United States.

 How would someone stereotype you at a glance?

If you were to stereotype me I would appear to be creepy, shady and untrustworthy.

 Do you have a romantic partner? If so, whom?

Unfortunately not, a lifetime of struggle doesn’t bring about a romantic side, I do hope to settle down and have a family later on to give them a good life like my parents wanted for me.

 Who is your best friend and what is he/she/it like? How would your friend describe you?

I did have a few friends growing up and some friends from the army but never a best friend, I’m not the most social person. Most would describe me as being quiet and humble.

 What is your economic situation? What have you done for work?

I worked on my family’s farm for my entire childhood, joined the army at age 18 in hopes of a better standard of living.

 Would you steal? How do you feel about lying? Can you be trusted by your friends? Do you have any other vices?

Not out of malice or greed, but if times get desperate then I may have no choice. One can’t blame me for escaping the army and my country. Even though I betrayed my country, you can trust me as I have nothing against you.

 What makes you happy? What makes you sad?

Relaxation, cigarettes, and my favorite movie Konyok Gorbunok; an animated 1947 animated film.

 What is the one secret that no one must know about you?

My background and history.

 Are you afraid to die?

Only in fear of failing to fulfill my family’s wishes to pursue a better life.

 Do you have any phobias?

My biggest fear is being in the labor camps that I’ve heard so much about, being captured by the Soviet army.

 Are you quick tempered or patient?

My life of hardship doesn’t give me the right to be tempered about much these days, I’m fairly patient as long as I know how I’ll have to wait.

Leave a Reply

